The Constitution of Iceland states that the President of Iceland shall be elected by a direct vote for a period of four years, commencing 1 August of the election year. Six persons have held the office of the President of Iceland since the establishment of the republic on 17 June 1944 until 1 August 2020.

A presidential election was held in Iceland on 27 June 2020. The total number of voters on the electoral roll was 252,152 or 69.2% of the total population. Participation of voters in the election was 168,790 or 66.9%. Participation of male voters was 62.4% and female voters 71.5%. The participation in previous presidential elections was highest in 1968, 92.2% but lowest in 2004, 62.9%.

The number of absentee votes in the 2020 presidential election was 52,519, or 31.1% of votes cast, a considerably higher percentage than in 2016 when it was 23.1%. Valid votes were 163,710, blank ballots 4,043 and void ballots 1,068.

Two candidates took part in the election, Guðmundur Franklín Jónsson, who got 12,797 votes (7.8%), and the incumbent Guðni Th. Jóhannesson who got 150,913 votes (92.2%).

Guðni Th. Jóhannesson was thus reelected President of Iceland for the period 1 August 2020 until 31 July 2024.

Presidential election 27 June 2020 - Statistical Series


Further Information

For further information please contact 528 1035 , email


Use of this press release is free. Please quote the source.